Warhol Foundation Grants and NEA Writer Fellowships go to Texas Artists, Writers and Museums


January always sees a slew of grant announcements.

The National Endowment for the Arts already announced its Art Works grantees on Jan. 13.

Related: NEA Awards $1.2 Million to Texas Arts Organizations

Now, the NEA has announced the latest recipients of its Creative Writing (Prose) Fellowships. Two Texas writers received the $25,000 grant — Greg Marshall and Karen Olsson, both of Austin.

Also, the Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts today announced its awards $3.9 million to 46 arts organizations from 19 different states.

In Texas, the Warhol grantees are:

  • Visual Arts Center at the University of Texas at Austin
    $75,000 for the upcoming exhibition “Social Fabric: Art and Activism in Contemporary Brazil”
  • Rubin Center at the University of Texas at El Paso
    $100,000 for two years of program support
  • Blaffer Art Museum, Univ. of Houston
    $100,000 for two years of program support

Finally, Austin dancemaker Allison Orr of Forklift Danceworkhas been awarded a residency at the MacDowell Foundation where she will work on a book project about her artistic practice.



Jeanne Claire van Ryzin
Jeanne Claire van Ryzin
An award-winning arts journalist, Jeanne Claire van Ryzin is the founder and editor-in-chief of Sightlines.

Related articles