March 20, 2023

Trenton Doyle Hancock, Matthew McConaughey Among Next Texas Medal of the Arts Honorees


The Texas Cultural Trust is rolling out the list of honorees for the next iteration of the biennial Texas Medal of the Arts.

Today the Trust announced that artist Trenton Doyle Hancock, Academy Award-winning actor Matthew McConaughey and photographer Mark Seliger will receive a Texas Medal when they are awarded Feb. 27, 2019, in Austin.

Honorees previously announced include fashion designer Brandon Maxwell, architects Craig Dykers and Elaine Molinar of Snøhetta Design, novelist and screenwriter Stephen Harrigan, and the Vidal M. Treviño School of Communications and Fine Arts in Laredo.

Still to come are honorees in music, dance and philanthropy, among other categories.

The Trust is a private  501(c)3 organization that raise public awareness and private funds in support of the arts and arts education. The Texas Medal of the Arts Awards started in 2001.


Editor's picks