May 21, 2022

SXSW 2020 Official Short Films Screened Online


Attention spans are likely at an all-time low, thanks to the stress of the world-wide coronavirus pandemic and millions under shelter-at-home order. So what could be better than short divertissements?

Digital marketing company Mailchimp and Oscilloscope Laboratories have created a digital home for the short films that would have been screened at the SXSW 2020 Film Festival in Austin. The sprawling, multi-pronged festival was cancelled on March 6, a week before its March 13 opening, when Austin Mayor Steve Adler declared a local disaster due to the pandemic.

You can see all the SXSW 2020 short films at mailchimp.com/presents/sxsw/

However despite its cancellation, the film festival’s jury and special awards were nevertheless made. See all the awards at sxsw.com/film/2020/

SXSW 2020 Short Film Grand Jury Awards

Narrative Shorts

Winner: White Eye
Director: Tomer Shushan

Special Jury Recognition for Acting: Dirty
Director: Matthew Puccini
Actors: Morgan Sullivan, Manny Dunn

Special Jury Recognition: Darling
Director: Saim Sadiq

Special Jury Recognition: Single
Director: Ashley Eakin

Documentary Shorts

Winner: No Crying at the Dinner Table
Director: Carol Nguyen

Special Jury Recognition: Mizuko
Directors: Katelyn Rebelo, Kira Dane

Special Jury RecognitionDía de la Madre
Directors: Ashley Brandon, Dennis Höhne

Midnight Shorts

Winner: Regret
Director: Santiago Menghini

Special Jury Recognition: Laura Hasn’t Slept
Director: Parker Finn

Special Jury Recognition for Creature Design: Stucco
Directors: Janina Gavankar, Russo Schelling

Animated Shorts

Winner: Symbiosis
Director: Nadja Andrasev

Special Jury Recognition: No, I Don’t Want to Dance!
Director: Andrea Vinciguerra

Special Jury Recognition: The Shawl
Director: Sara Kiener

Music Videos

Winner: 070 Shake – ‘Nice to Have’
Director: Noah Lee

Special Jury Recognition for Animation: Mitski – ‘A Pearl’
Directors: Saad Moosajee, Art Camp

Special Jury Recognition for Direction: The Lumineers – ‘Gloria’
Director: Kevin Phillips

Texas Shorts

Winner: Just Hold On
Directors: Sam Davis, Rayka Zehtabchi

Special Jury Recognition: Coup d’etat Math
Director: Sai Selvarajan

Texas High School Shorts

Winner: Wish Upon a Snowman
Director: Miu Nakata

Special Jury Recognition for NarrativeUltimatum
Director: Kai Hashimoto

Special Jury Recognition for DocumentaryUnveiled
Director: Sofia Bajwa

Special Jury Recognition for AnimationThe Orchard
Director: Zeke French

Jeanne Claire van Ryzin
Jeanne Claire van Ryzinhttps://sightlinesmag.org
An award-winning arts journalist, Jeanne Claire van Ryzin is the founder and editor-in-chief of Sightlines.

Editor's picks