Composer Quinn Mason to debut commissioned new works

At two October concerts, the final commissioned pieces by the inaugural composer of KMFA's Draylen Mason Composer-in-Residence program

Quinn Mason
Composer Quinn Mason. Courtesy KMFA

Two upcoming concerts will debut the final two of three commissioned pieces by Quinn Mason, the inaugural composer of KMFA’s Draylen Mason Composer-in-Residence program. Launched earlier this year, the residency program honors the memory of Draylen Mason, a promising young Austin musician killed in 2018 by the Austin package bomber

On Oct. 9, UT Austin Butler School of Music Wind Ensemble will play “The Sky Searching Within Itself.”

Then on Oct. 22, Inversion Ensemble will debut “Peace,” a choral work. featuring text by Pulitzer Prize-winning American Poet Sara Teasdale (1884-1933). “Utilizing an accessible harmonic language, ‘Peace’ aims to convey a sense of tranquility and hope,” said Mason on this new work.

Related: ‘KMFA’s Draylen Mason composer-in-residence program launches new music for classical radio’

The Dallas-based Mason (no relation to Draylen) spent a week in residence with KMFA in late February. While in Austin, Mason also spoke with students at the conservatory of Draylen Mason’s alma mater, East Austin Prep, and conducted a virtual mater class with aspiring composers from Golden Hornet’s Young Composer project. Music students from KMFA’s neighbor Martin Middle School also performed for Quinn the Draylen Mason Music Studio.

“The Sky Searching Within Itself” 
Performed by UT Austin Butler School of Music Wind Ensemble, Jerry Junkin, Conductor
4 p.m.Oct. 9, Bates Recital Hall on the UT Campus
Tickets: $5-$10

Inversion Ensemble’s “The Electric Choir” including the premiere of Quinn Mason’s “Peace”
2 p.m. Oct. 22, KMFA’s Draylen Mason Music Studio, 41 Navasota St.
Tickets: $30.00 for general admission and are available
This genre-bending concert will alternate between new a cappella works and choral works accompanied by electronic tracks and electric instruments. Inversion Ensemble in-house composers Marjorie Halloran, Adrienne Inglis, Robbie LaBanca, Trevor Show, and Trevor Villwock will premiere new music .