Austin Film Society Awards 19 Grants to Filmmakers


Austin Film Society announced 19 recipients for its annual production fund, the AFS Grant.

Grantees received a combination of cash and in-kind grants from AFS partners, totaling $110,000. In-kind grants were provided by MPS Studios, Stuck On On and Kodak Motion Picture Film.

Recipients of AFS Grants are early to mid-career emerging filmmakers.

The AFS Grant selections are made by a panel of industry experts residing outside of the state of Texas. This year’s panelists were award-winning documentary filmmaker Jamie Meltzer, Independent Spirit-Award nominated writer/director and composer Amman Abbassi and Audrey Chang, programmer at SFFilm’s San Francisco International Film Festival.

In the Features category, the grantees are Patrick Bresnan and Ivete Lucas; Maisie Crow; Jazmin Diaz; Chelsea Hernandez; Caleb Johnson; Li Lu; Morrisa Maltz; Carlo Nasisse and Geronimo Barrera; Ben Powell and Bo Powell; Michael Rowley; and Yen Tan

Filmmakers winning for short films are: Haley Anderson, Miguel Alvarez, Amy Bench, Ryan Darbonne, Shelby Hadden, Vanessa Pla, and Ramon Villa.

See a complete list of recipients and their projects here.

Jeanne Claire van Ryzin
Jeanne Claire van Ryzin
An award-winning arts journalist, Jeanne Claire van Ryzin is the founder and editor-in-chief of Sightlines.

Related articles