AIA Austin Gives its Annual Awards

    Griffin School, Murrya Legge Architects. Photo by Leonid Furmansky.

    The Austin chapter of the American Institute of Architects gave its annual awards May 10 at the new Austin Central Library.

    Jurors were Billie Faircloth, AIA, Claudia Harari, Andrew Klare, and Roberto de Leon, FAIA.

    “This year’s jurors were incredibly thoughtful and rigorous,” says AIA Austin Executive Director Ingrid Spencer. “They were interested in projects that elevated a building type or sent a message that design could solve problems, be functional, and still be beautiful.

    Images of the award-winning projects will be on exhibit through June 30 at the Central Library. Exhibit visitors will be able to vote for the People’s Choice Award.

    The library itself received a Sustainability Commendation award for its architects, Lake | Flato.


    John Gaines Park Swim Center, Stanley Architects. Photo by Casey Dunn.

    Design Awards
    Eberly, Clayton & Little

    Lamar Union, BOKA Powell and Michael Hsu Office of Architecture

    Flyritem North Dick Clark + Associates with Marlon Blackwell Architects

    Griffin School, Murray Legge Architecture

    John Gaines Park Swim Center, Stanley Studio

    St. Edward’s University Holy Cross Hall, Baldridge Architects

    Constant Springs Residence, alterstudio architecture, LLP

    South 5th Residence, alterstudio architecture, LLP

    Rio Grande Residence, Charles Di Piazza and Chris Cobb

    Texas French Bread Dining Terrace, Charles Di Piazza and Chris Cobb

    Foundation Communities’ Bluebonnet Studios, Photo by Paul Bardagjy.Forge Craft Architecture + Design.

    W Dock, Miró Rivera Architects

    Three-Courts House, A Parallel Architecture

    Austin Central Library, Lake|Flato & Shepley Bulfinch, Sustainability Commendation

    Bluebonnet Studios, Forge Craft Architecture + Design, Sustainability Commendation

    Awards of Merit: Community First! Village Micro House, McKinney York Architects; Deep Curiosity, Derrington Building Studio, Wilson Hack, and Drophouse Design; Inwood Place, Tim Cuppett Architects; Hill Country House, Miró Rivera Architects, Sustainability Commendation

    Print Friendly, PDF & Email


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here